The “Expert”

What can I say? Le Sigh.

Being good at Google-fu and able to quote (inaccurately) from Wikipedia does not an expert make.

Consider: You worked in a city ten years ago. Said city was foreign to you — language, culture, people, etc. your tenure was five years, maybe ten. Yes, you would know most of the streets and how the city works for an expatriate. But you would not know it from a native’s viewpoint or someone who is of the culture.

The majority of us would see the fallacy in trying to convince another otherwise. Yet, some people insist that they know the city better than the (near-) native because Wikipedia and google-fu are strong in that vocal “expert”.

Unfortunately, instead of gracefully admitting that they are not an expert, but only drawing on their experience from a limited amount of time, this “expert” turned the conversation into “who knows this city better?” and “you do know [insert name which supports their point], no?”

That second question is a bait. For what? Trapping the responder between, “yes, I know, so my previous statement was wrong, thus I discredit myself and prove I’m not an expert on the city which I call home”, and “no, I don’t know them, so I’ve just outed myself as an ignoramus and proven I’m not an expert on the city I call home”.

Essentially, the bait question is there to reinforce the fact that the “expert” is one on said city.

Did I miss a superiority complex issue?

Annoyed, amused. And puzzled. Le sigh.

The “Expert”

Leave a Reply

